Jacob Heringman's Diary


Visit Jacob Heringman's web site

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

02 December 2003 - 23:13

Tuesday evening.... Zan's in Sheffield giving a concert with Fretwork. She's going to get a 5 AM train back to London in order not to miss Wednesday morning on the training course. This is important because we're going to be away on Thursday and Friday, and we have to be careful about missing too many days. Fingers crossed there will be no train trouble.

I've been in slightly slower mode for the last two or three days, which has been really nice, and much needed. Saturday night's solo recital in Lewes went pretty well. I feel that I'm slowly making progress on the technical and Alexander fronts in my playing. But it's a slow process, and I have a hard time letting go of my perfectionism.

On Sunday, I wrote a lengthy article for Goldberg Magazine which was due on Monday, and which I'd been thinking about for ages, but for which I saved the writing process until the eleventh hour.

Yesterday, I set up Zan's new laptop. Very exciting! It's the first in our household, and it's very nice. She's extremely proud of it.

Today and tomorrow, in addition to the course, I'm practising for Thursday night's concert in Monmouth, doing some teaching, and a few other things, including meeting my old friend Bjorn for lunch tomorrow, not having seen him for about seven years!

After Monmouth on Thursday, we're spending the weekend out there with friends, which I'm looking forward to.

Then, there's the final day of recording on the 15th of December for the new CD, and a little Christmas concert with Zan and Emma on the 19th, and then it's vacation time. Hooray!

Lately, in this diary, I've written mainly about what I'm doing. It reads rather like a to do list. It's a shame I haven't quite managed to write about being. Ultimately, it's a more important subject, and one which I sometimes forget all about.

previous - next