Jacob Heringman's Diary


Visit Jacob Heringman's web site

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

07 September 2003 - 17:28

Sunday, 31 August 2003

Amsterdam

I'm sitting in a Mexican restaurant on my own (my hosts have gone off to a dinner party), which is quite nice (once I get over my feelings of inadequacy which sometimes come with dining alone), because I need a little time to catch up with myself, and to digest the many impressions I've been gathering on my non-stop travels. These impressions include the rich and busy experience of teaching and performing in Vancouver, which was rewarding in many ways. Then there were 9 days back in England, to practise and prepare for lots of upcoming things (during that time I also did a concert with Jennie and Philip at the wonderful early Tudor house, Acton Court), and to see Zan, before heading for NY for a week. NY was great. I had an extremely stimulating and enriching day with my teacher, Pat O'Brien (with whom I'd just been co-teaching in Vancouver, but with whom I hadn't had a lesson for two years). Then, family time: my brother Noah's and Elizabeth's wedding was a wonderful occasion. They'd devised a beautiful ceremony in a lovely outdoor location (in Woodstock), and the atmosphere of positivity was a great thing. I very much enjoyed seeing friends of Noah's whom I hadn't seen in perhaps 15 years,and catching up with my step-siblings.

I got home on Wednesday (the 27th), had the rest of Wednesday and all of Thursday at home, and took the train on Friday to Amsterdam, where I've been rehearsing with Michael Chance and the Brisk Recorder Quartet for a couple of days. I know Michael, of course, and he's wonderful, but I hadn't met the Brisks before; they're a superb ensemble, and a very nice bunch. I'm enjoying working with them. There's already talk of future projects.

On the day when we play in Utrecht (2 Sept.), Zan will also be arriving there (coincidentally) to play a concert in the same festival (with Phantasm). So we'll be reunited after more than two weeks apart. Thank heaven! I miss her a great deal. So much to catch up on! On the 6th and 7th, she and I will take a little holiday together.

previous - next