Jacob Heringman's Diary


Visit Jacob Heringman's web site

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

19 March 2003 - 20:34

Another day of school and practice. Things are progressing nicely for the concerts this Friday and next Saturday. But by the time I've done school (leave the house at 0800, work intensively there from 0845 to 1215, get home at 1300), had a bite of lunch and caught my breath, there's only the second half of the afternoon and the first part of the evening in which to practise and get the usual paperwork and matters arising dealt with. In the end, these are long and tiring days. But also very satisfying ones. The AT training is continuing to be a joy, and the AT way of working is increasingly finding its way into my lute playing, making it more and more satisfying to do. My impression is that I'm living more in the present, and getting more personal satisfaction out of each of my activities. And it's quite clear that this personal satisfaction, this quality of living well, is more important to me than fame, fortune, recognition, or anything else "external".

We've also had some good social times. Last evening was spent with Liz and Andrew and Adam, for the first time in much too long. Young Adam is going to be a year old in May, and he is delightful! The night before, we had some friends for a St. Patrick's Day meal, which was also great fun. The attached photo was taken that evening.

Listening to the first edit of the Dufay Collective's (www.dufay.com) new and forthcoming CD--very good indeed! Also listening to some music by Peter Hammill that Andrew Keeling has sent me--good stuff; and to the new King Crimson CD, which I haven't yet finished listening to, but the first impression of which is that it's somehow more satisfying than TCOL, at least on first hearing.

previous - next