Jacob Heringman's Diary


Visit Jacob Heringman's web site

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

16 February 2003 - 19:09

Sunday evening...

My mother is here. Zan and she and I spent the afternoon at the wonderful D�rer exhibition at the British Museum. Now we're fixing to go out again, to our favourite local (ish) restaurant, the Osteria Antica Bologna on Northcote Road.

Yesterday, I had the unforgettable experience of being part of the 1,000,000 strong peace march in Central London. Quite astonishing to be in a crowd that size, and to sense the positive energy and not feel at all threatened or worried about being stampeded. It was truly awe-inspiring to experience the numbers, and the amazing atmosphere. It's pretty much impossible to put into words. Zan was away, but my mother and I travelled up and marched with my friends Melanne and Simon from the record company (AVIE).

Among my favourite placards: �Stop Mad Cowboy Disease�; �Archers Addicts for Peace�; �War, never; Peace, clever; Poetry, forever!�; and the simple and eloquent: �Imagine�.

previous - next