Jacob Heringman's Diary


Visit Jacob Heringman's web site

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

14 February 2003 - 21:11

I've left it rather a long time since the last entry. I have a tendency to feel that if I don't have time to write acres of material, I'd better not write at all. And of course, the longer I leave it, the more overwhelming the amount of material there is to catch up on!

So I won't try to catch up at all. Instead, I'll just say: hi, Diary! I'm still around. Yesterday, Zan and I (with Bill and Giles and Viv) did a concert in Leicestershire. That was an intense day. Zan and I went to the course in the morning, and then drove (in a rented car) about 150 miles, picking up the others along the way. Once we got there (a place called Snibston Discovery Park, in Coalville, Leicestershire), we rehearsed for the rest of the afternoon, and then did the concert. It was pretty tricky, as we were all fighting with the severely cold temperature in the room. It's a huge challenge to play well when all your muscles are seizing up due to the cold.

It was very nice to play there, though, as SDP is the workplace of Zan's brother, Nick, who got us the gig. It's also 20 minutes' drive from the home of Zan's parents. They rarely get to see us perform, and on this occasion we were performing on their doorstep! Great to see them!

We didn't get home from Leicestershire until about 0130 this morning, and didn't get to sleep until about 0230, so getting up at 0645 was a bit rough. But we got through the day, and had a nice morning at school. It was the last day before our mid-term break, which means that we have all of next week off.

My mother arrived this afternoon. She managed to come into and out of Heathrow airport only about an hour late, which isn't too bad, considering Heathrow is under siege. Very nice to see her! We have lots of plans for the few days in which she's here. Starting with the big peace march tomorrow in central London.

previous - next