Jacob Heringman's Diary


Visit Jacob Heringman's web site

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

09 January 2003 - 22:11

We�re networked!

Zan has my old computer now, and I have a new one, and our computers are networked so that we can share files and share a high-speed internet connection. I never thought technology would excite me, but it really is wonderful what one can do nowadays!

The only problem: it took all day to get it working, and before that, I�ve spent the best part of several other days trying to get the new computer working, and, all the time, I�ve had a vague feeling that I should really be playing the lute rather than messing around with this technology. I�ve rather neglected my playing, and got a bit (no, not just a bit, but extremely) hooked on messing around with computers; it�s rather like an addiction.

Now, I feel it�s time to get back to the lute. Lots of people mess around with computers, but not many play the lute well. I won�t be playing the lute well either pretty soon, if I don�t get back into practising it more!

There! I�ve given myself a pep talk in a public forum, so I�ll just have to be good and get back into serious practising, because various friends and family will be emailing me and telling me to get my act together�..

Meanwhile, ideas for the JH website are flying back and forth thick and fast between Mark (blessings on him) and myself.

previous - next